#2020makenine with the Drygoods Team (part-one)

It’s that time of the year where goals/intentions/resolutions can either be inspiring, stressful or just eye-roll inducing. However, we often love looking ahead to see what we can fit into our lives when it comes to making things. Inspiration can come from within but there’s something pretty wonderful about seeing what others are doing too. If you’re on the fence about your goals for the year, sometimes seeing that someone else can do it too, makes a difference. We love the #makenine idea since it doesn’t mean you have to churn out something every week or month of the year. Sometimes there will be weeks or months where time and motivation just don’t line up. But you can still make goals, just the same and have a lighted path for yourself.  So, here’s the first part of our team’s individual lists.

From Amelia (you can follow @coloroffog on the IG):

In 2020, I’m planning to continue scheduling in dedicated studio time (best choice of 2019). I always have LOTS of project ideas, but another goal for 2020 is to focus a little bit more on my stash. I mainly buy fabrics for specific patterns/ projects, but when plans shift, sometimes they sit around for a while. 

My make nine are:

  1. Strand Coat, Merchant & Mills (in progress: getting the muslin right before I make it in blue wool twill)
  2. Dawn Shorts, Megan Nielsen patterns (in progress/ paused when the weather got cold, black stretch twill)
  3. Carolyn Pajamas, Closet Case Patterns (pretty, Indian block print)
  4. Pietra shorts/ pants, Closet Case Patterns (make a second pair of shorts -black mochi linen- and transfer all my mods and hacks to to the pants view, fabric TBD)
  5. Ogden Cami, True Bias (Japanese linen and/ or Nani Iro planets)
  6. Baby quilt for a cousin (I want to try out some of the techniques from the Improv Handbook using my collected scraps)
  7. Another Emery Dress, Christine Haynes (mixed-scale black and white checks: smaller on the bodice, larger on skirt)
  8. Vintage McCalls 6613 in view D or A (hot pink linen)
  9. Scout Tee, Grainline (sized down, to make with some striped jersey from last summer)

akrmaking

From Lucy, one of our newest team members, who impressively also has plans for the exact fabrics for each of her goal makes this year.

  1. Ninni Coulettes in black wool suiting
  2. Avenir jumpsuit in merchant and mills tencel twill colorway Amalfi
  3. Free Range Slacks tapered in Yoko Saito yarn dye woven plaid sage grey
  4. Finish 2nd pair of Dawn jeans in black denim
  5. Merchant and Mills TN31 coat in Indian cotton hand-loom yarn-dyed solid stripe orange blue lined with Indian cotton block print floral dusty lavender
  6. Merchant and Mills Fielder dress in Italian Linen slub gray
  7. Wiksten Shift short sleeve shirt in black midnight cupro/tencel/linen blend 
  8. Wiksten Shift dress in Ruby Star Society rayon She Navy
  9. Sienna Maker Jacket in whiskey midnight cupro/tencel/linen blend

From Kiyomi (who you can follow @thedappercrow on IG) who inspired me to also keep an open space for a new release pattern this year.

Looking at my list from last year I got halfway there and finished 4 and started a 5th. I did end up making a bunch of other things though, so goes to show how good I am at sticking to a plan.
This year I think I’m being more ambitious but we’ll see, I am very excited by all the new patterns coming out. 
  1. The Ilford Coat from Friday pattern company
  2. Corduroy Pants – pattern TBD
  3. Collins Top from In the Folds
  4. The Summer Coat by Nani Iro Sewing Studio
  5. Cornell Skirt (PDF Pattern) – By Elble Textiles
  6. The Hosta from Fancy Tiger
  7. Pair of sweats (pattern TBD)
  8. The Cottongrass Sweater by the Petite Knitter
  9. A newly released pattern

kghmake

From Mackenzie (you can follow @mackenziesasser on the IG):

Working on using up some of my favorite fabrics I stashed in 2019, and using up my yarn stash with my favorite new craft I learned in 2019, Punch Needle!
  1. Sew House 7 Free Range slacks using lightweight canvas
  2. Named Sloan sweatshirt using fabric I paint/dye myself
  3. Cielo top or dress in one of my stash fabrics from India
  4. Kabuki Tee in a stitched triple gauze
  5. Adding at least 4 circle pillows in different textures to my living room
  6. All Well Full Moon Bag with maybe a punch needle pocket
  7. Punch needle pillow (circle of course)
  8. Knitting the Woolfolk Skov hat in Luft
  9. Using my souvenir mohair yarn from a 2019 trip to Norway in and Petite Knits Oslo hat

msmake9

We have a few more team members to share in our part II coming next week!

Leave a comment