Figgy’s Heavenly Blog Tour: Ethereal Tunic and Seraphic Raglan Tee

FiggysHeavenlyCollectionWinter2014TourButton_zpsbeb6d619

It’s the last stop on the Figgy’s Heavenly Tour (along with the wonderful Alison Glass) and we’re so excited, honored and thrilled to be a part of such a fun lineup. If you haven’t checked it out, please do. These new Figgy’s Patterns are like Pringles – once you pop you can’t stop! How much do we love them? We’re already carrying them in the shop (with the full line coming soon)! You can now order the digital versions online from Drygoods Design. We’ve carried Figgy’s since before the retail shop opened and it’s hard to say what came first, like the chicken or the egg, as I discovered Figgy’s and Shelly and she became a customer and a friend. Her spirit and her aesthetic made her an early kindred spirit along the Drygoods Design timeline and we could not be more excited about her latest offerings.

One for him, one for her. If you have or know children, they really like fairness and justice. Therefore, with two little ones, I couldn’t just make one pattern from Figgy’s wonderful new collection of digital patterns, the Heavenly Collection. For the little miss W, it was the Ethereal Tunic (which can also be made as a blouse, and two other dress lengths) and for little mister M, it was the Seraphic Raglan Tee.

In the span of three days I made two versions for both kids – I loved sewing up pieces that were so stinking cute, they didn’t want to take off and were simple and easy to sew up. The kids not wanting to wear anything else was probably the best evidence of how wearable the pieces are – even when they only picked fabric on the first versions.

I do sew quite a bit but for some reason, outside of Halloween, these are the first apparel items I have ever sewn for the kids and darn it Shelly, you might have me consumed with my latest obsession. I am already printing out other patterns of the seven of the Heavenly collection and thinking every child I know needs a Seraphic Raglan.

Digital patterns are usually like a fence in sewing – you’re either on the side of it where you don’t mind them and use them often or on the side where you just don’t like printing and taping. After these two, I really didn’t mind the process behind it. Bonus is that Shelly uses dropbox and thus you can just print out the pattern pieces and work directly from computer, phone or tablet for the instructions. Another thing – Swedish Tracing Paper. We’re big fans at Drygoods and for kids patterns where you want to get the most use of all the sizes, it’s perfect. Tape once my friends, tape once.

Enough words – let’s see the pics, right? I want to state clearly that after this experience, I have even greater curiosity about how people who photograph their kids for sewing projects ever get really good shots. They must just dangle shows and candy in front of them, right? With that said, these photos range from great captures to blurry messes.

The first versions where they chose their prints: Hers was this crazy soft and lightweight floral print and his was a perfect french terry for the sleeves and pocket and this super soft heather slub jersey. On both dresses I went into the 4/5 based on measurements (she’s 2.5 and tall) and while it’s bigger in the sleeves and a little in the waist, she’ll be wearing this for months! For his I didn’t have a chance to measure him but did the 6/7 (he’s 5.5) and except for some longer sleeves which he happily rolled, it fit perfect.

DSC_7374 DSC_7376 DSC_7378 DSC_7402 DSC_7408 DSC_7413 DSC_7383 DSC_7382 DSC_7444 DSC_7416 DSC_7448 DSC_7445 DSC_7395 DSC_7418

The second versions – I did a cotton contrast pocket for him but kept the fantastic organic french terry. This time for the tee I hemmed the sleeves (also cut a little shorter) and the bottom. Still awesome! On hers I used an organic voile from Koi by Rashida Coleman-Hale, which I so wish we still had. She loves it, declaring for all she passes the colors and how soft it is. I did more topstitching on the sleeves and neckline.

Photo Feb 27, 7 39 28 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 49 49 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 42 17 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 40 40 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 57 35 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 44 53 AM Photo Feb 27, 3 19 53 PM (1) Photo Feb 27, 3 19 21 PM Photo Feb 27, 7 30 08 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 44 00 AM Photo Feb 27, 7 57 13 AM Photo Feb 27, 4 29 32 PM

Both patterns took less than two hours from cut to finish the second time around; which makes them even better in my book. If you’re looking for a small project to conquer fears around apparel than these are fantastic.

If you’re still reading – head on over to Shelly’s blog to check out the incredible giveaway happening as part of the Heavenly Tour.

Thanks so much Shelly!

FiggysHeavenlyCollectionWinterTour2014_zps48e21bea

3 responses to “Figgy’s Heavenly Blog Tour: Ethereal Tunic and Seraphic Raglan Tee

  1. These came out so cute! I’m loving the koi. Wish I had ordered some for myself when I bought some as a gift. Organic French terry is amazing. I used some for a project recently and frequently find myself petting the things I made. Lol! I’ve been wanting to place an order with drygoods design for a while, so hopefully I’ll get to soon!

    Oh and I take lots of blog pics of my kids. Normally bribery isn’t involved, but sometimes I have to resort to it. Lol. Another thing that helps is having props for them to engage with so they don’t just run away.

Leave a Reply

