Hard to post but the show must go on

I have struggled with whether or not to make a declaration about the recent events in my life. However, it’s become apparent that my customers are some of the most wonderfully patient and understanding people. That said, I’d like to ask for continued understanding as my response times are a little slower these days and as many may have noticed orders haven’t shipped in their typical lightening-quick fashion of late. A week ago today my father passed away and it’s hit me harder than I could have imagined. My family, me and the world lost a rather incredible and one-of-a-kind man last Monday and now I am trying to figure out what my world looks like without him. For the last six months we knew his time was coming but I still wasn’t prepared. Many trips to Oregon and probably more in the future have had me slower on the work side.

My dad, were he still here, would tell me that the show must go on and it will but I wanted to share this news so I slow down and recognize that I won’t be bouncing back too fast. I remain excited about the new shop, your quilt block submissions (so excited to see them) and continuing to fulfill every order that comes in, however it will just be done with more measured thoughts I suppose in the next few weeks. Custom orders versus fabric orders will take the biggest hit, and I apologize for any extended delays.

There’s some good changes coming to the site and of course new fabric (Flea Market Fancy) always around the bend, including QuiltCon-specific bundles. I will update you soon as it will be mean new customer accounts, better ordering, a new look and more.

Thank you to all the customers with which I’ve already had to share this news and thank you in advance for your continued understanding.

Best,

Keli

19 responses to “Hard to post but the show must go on

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss, Keli. I lost my dad in September and my older sister in November of last year, so I have an idea of how devastated you must feel. I’m happy to talk, or just listen, if you need another friend. My email is attached here.

    • Thanks so much Jessica. You’re so kind and I truly appreciate it – I am so sorry for your loss too. We lost my uncle, one of my dearest relatives to me, in December from similar complications as my dad and it’s pretty nuts to grieve double time isn’t it?

  2. Sending warm thoughts to you and your family, Keli. Take things slowly, reflect and be good and be patient with yourself. I lost my dad over two years ago and I’m still dealing with the loss each and every day. Life changes but with each passing day your relationship with your father will strengthen and become an integral part of you. You will always be your father’s daughter, nothing can change the relationship nor the love you both shared.

    • Thank you so much Suzy, your words are comforting and a good reminder. I hope in the coming weeks and months that things start to hurt less often as you say and become more an element of strength versus sadness

  3. That you are even functioning at the capacity you are is amazing! Hold your head up high and do the necessary grieving you need to do….don’t ignore it by staying crazy busy! Thank you for sharing, it’s not easy. Best of luck to you and your family, I’m so sorry for your loss. God bless.

    • Thank you so much Kaisa – your words bring comfort and I didn’t want to share but realized that I had to set some expectations for myself instead of carry on as normal. Appreciate all your thoughts and kind words.

  4. I’m so sorry! If there’s anything you need (casserole? post office run?) lemme know! 🙂

    I’m pretty sure I saw you at the post office today and I really wanted to say hi, but I wasn’t sure it was really you. So if it was, and you were super creeped out by the stalker-stare, I apologize!

    • Thank you so much Cassie – truly appreciate it. Obviously this has delayed work on my new space so that’s why I haven’t emailed you. Was it a harried looking chick with aviators to cover dark circles, racing through to the automated postal center at 5 p.m.? Then yes, that was me:). I don’t think I saw you, just an insanely long line, but please next time say hi – can’t wait to meet you and congrats on the new sewing studio space!

  5. So so sorry to hear about your loss Keli. Continue to celebrate your father’s life and the joy he has brought to you and your family. There is a special bond between a father and a daughter that is unmatched by any other relationship. Praying for you during this time.

  6. To lose your father is to loose your touch-stone, your cheerleader, your rock. Take time to grieve and heal.

  7. You and your family are in my thoughts.

    I have to share that the worst part is when you think you are done crying and you find yourself wanting to share something with him and he’s not there.

Leave a Reply

